Skip to content

this now can grow

April 20, 2013

it has been a while since I wrote poetry
resolving to speak plainly to you
which was not enough, so my arms sang,
my feet moved, my hands made

and so with you
dear prince from the land
beyond the sea

the words i cannot say
they are yours alone
and the feelings that I enclose
only you can draw out

and your incessant pleadings
to be heard, to be seen
i reply to with similar refrains –
oh, the joy i felt in your speech!

to be sad at your passing on
no, i will not think of that!
but just you within me
for the length of my lifetime

it is my extreme pleasure
to behold you sleeping
like the child you are inside

and to count myself unheard
and my affections unrequited
and my language misunderstood
and my sentiments ignored

for everything is in order within me
and I will never forget you,
dear prince from the land
beyond the sea
which your kingdom and our kingdoms
have been disputing with the Dragon

do not then love me so violently

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

