Skip to content

whispering to dover from calais

April 20, 2013

sea-drenched,
flogged by the waves,
i arrive to you, french coast

words spoken by a talking clock
tick, tock, tick, tock –

i would have gone to germany
and did –
but i found my soul in you, i found my soul in you,
dear bonne terre of the vine
i left a world of stodgy towers

and promised myself i’d kiss you
kiss the ground before me – that is,
when at last i come to your shores,
build my tent and sing hymns carried across the

strait
straight

to my old home
from the islands which lay scattered on the belly of the blessed archipelago

i still love germany
but in you i found me
so i will spin my fantasies and create my bibliotheques
for you, for you, dear motherland

{i may have been in a poem-writing frenzy, but never mind}

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

